the idea of me 

you’re not in love with me. you’re in love with the idea of me. 

people are just a manifestation of ideas. and i am fortunate enough to be one of yours. 

i saw you and i fell in love with your eyes– and then later for who you are. you saw me and i still fail to fathom what it is you see.

i hide behind walls i’ve built. you only see fragments of me, even when i let you see a lot more than anyone else. 

fear has kept it that way. my fear that when i show you who i really am, you’ll finally see. you’ll finally see the dwelling darkness inside. 

if you dip your pretty toes in a litle deeper than the surface, the cold will be numbing. that is something i would never wish upon anyone, let alone you. 

you have no clue as to who i really am. my bad habits, my tantrums, my depressive tendencies. you are not familiar with my monsters. they would scare you away. 

you haven’t seen me at my worst. i haven’t let you. you don’t know how unhappy i really am. how needy i can be. 

i put on a tough front, a smiling face. a mask so the world would leave me alone. 

maybe i’m being selfish. you shouldn’t be kept in ignorance, even when it is sometimes bliss. maybe i should just let you see me, for who i really am. 

maybe i should trust your love for me. maybe you do see through me. maybe you know what you’re walking into. maybe. 

i doubt it though. you’re only in love with the idea of me. and that’s like not loving me at all.  

is it time to let you go? am i fermenting something toxic? 

i’m opening my doors. my vulnerabilies are laid out in the open. it’s your call. if you plunge deep within me, would you stay despite it all? 

Leave a Reply

